Home Page

EYFS Curriculum

At Court de Wyck Church School, we ensure that the requirements of the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) and the Educational Programmes are met through all seven areas of learning and development, in order for children to make progress towards the early learning goals. These are the established expectations for most children to reach by the end of the EYFS. 


We plan an exciting and challenging curriculum based on our observation of children’s needs, interests, and stages of development across these seven areas of learning to enable the children to achieve and exceed the early learning goals.  


All the seven areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. 

Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children's curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. 

These three areas are the prime areas:

Communication and Language

Physical Development

Personal, Social and Emotional Development


Children are also supported through the four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:



Understanding the World

Expressive Arts and Design

Have a look at our Robin Class Page to see our Early Years Curriculum in action.